Skip to main content
Situation Room

Video Review: PHI @ DAL - 1:41 of the Second Period

No goal Philadelphia

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: PHI vs. DAL

Situation Room: Whistle blew before puck entered net

After a video review, it is determined that the referee had the intent to blow his whistle before the puck crossed the goal line

  • 00:30 •

At 1:41 of the second period in the Flyers/Stars game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Dallas net. The Referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance of Rule 31.2 which states, in part, that "the Referee may deem the play to be stopped slightly prior to the whistle actually being blown. The fact that the puck may come loose or cross the goal line prior to the sound of the whistle has no bearing if the Referee has ruled that the play had been stopped prior to this happening." This is not a reviewable play - no goal Philadelphia Flyers. 

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.