Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: PIT @ WSH - 5:31 of the Third Period

Original call is overturned - good goal Penguins @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: PIT vs. WSH

Situation Room: No-goal call on Malkin overturned

Evgeni Malkin's goal is initially waved off due to goaltender interference, but the call is overturned after the Penguins challenge the call

  • 03:11 •

At 5:31 of the third period in the Penguins/Capitals game, Pittsburgh requested a Coach's Challenge to review the "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Pittsburgh's Evgeni Malkin did not interfere with Washington goaltender Philipp Grubauer before the puck crossed the goal line.

Therefore the original call is overturned - good goal Pittsburgh Penguins. 

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Penguins retain their time-out.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.