Skip to main content

Patrick Wiercioch scores in overtime as Senators edge Lightning 2-1 @NHL

OTTAWA - Patrick Wiercioch scored the game winner 4:43 into overtime on Thursday as the Ottawa Senators defeated the Tampa Bay Lightning 2-1.

Mark Stone also scored for the Senators (39-26-12) as Andrew Hammond made 28 saves to improve to 16-1-1 as an NHL starter.

Jonathan Drouin scored the lone goal for Tampa Bay, which has now lost four of its last six outings. Ben Bishop turned away 32-of-34 shots in defeat.

Despite the win the Senators were unable to gain ground in the standings and still trail the Boston Bruins? who beat the Detroit Red Wings 3-2 Thursday? by three points. Ottawa still has a game in hand.

The Senators continued to struggle on the power play and were 0 for 5 with the man advantage. Ottawa has now gone 1 for 15 in its last three games.

Tied 1-1, the third period did little to resolve things as neither team generated much offense.

Both teams had a couple of good opportunities in the second, but couldn't capitalize. The Lightning outshot the Senators 10-8 in the middle frame and Hammond had to make a great glove save on Steven Stamkos to keep it tied.

With 14 seconds remaining in the second Jean-Gabriel Pageau had a knee-on-knee collision with Stamkos. Pageau was in visible pain as he required assistance to the dressing room, but was able to return for the start of the third.

The Senators opened the scoring at 5:03 as Stone, with his 20th of the season, jumped on a Kyle Turris rebound and banged it past Bishop.

Tampa tied the game late in the period with a power-play goal by Drouin. Unable to win the battle to clear the puck along the boards, Anton Stralman grabbed the puck and was able to find Drouin all alone.

The Senators are back in action Saturday as they host the Washington Capitals.

Notes-The Senators were without LW Matt Puempel (high ankle sprain) and LW Milan Michalek (undisclosed). D Jared Cowen and LW Colin Greening were healthy scratches. The Lightning were without defencemen Victor Hedman, Braydon Coburn, Jason Garrison and Adrej Sustr as well as C Tyler Johnson.

View More