Skip to Main Content
NHL Awards

Patrick Kane first U.S.-born player to win Hart

Blackhawks forward voted NHL's most valuable player @NHLdotcom

Kane wins Hart Memorial Trophy

Patrick Kane is awarded the Hart Memorial Trophy

Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane wins the Hart Memorial Trophy to become the first American-born player voted as the League's MVP

  • 01:57 •

Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane won the Hart Memorial Trophy as the League's most valuable player at the 2016 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on Wednesday.

Kane, who led the NHL with 106 points (46 goals, 60 assists), is the first American-born player to win the Art Ross Trophy as the League's scoring leader and the first American-born player to win the Hart Trophy.

Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars were the other finalists.

Video: Patrick Kane on winning the Hart Trophy

2015-2016 Hart Memorial Trophy Voting // Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

1.   Patrick Kane, CHI   1395   (121-22-5-2-0)
2.   Sidney Crosby, PIT   800   (11-64-31-24-15)
3.   Jamie Benn, DAL       637   (8-34-40-34-17)
4.   Braden Holtby, WSH   292   (5-13-19-13-17)
5.   Joe Thornton, SJS   267   (0-8-19-31-23)
6.   Alex Ovechkin, WSH   212   (2-6-18-13-21)
7.   Jaromir Jagr, FLA   60   (1-1-5-4-6)
8.   Anze Kopitar, LAK   53   (1-0-2-8-9)
9.   Erik Karlsson, OTT   44   (0-1-4-2-11)
10.   Ben Bishop, TBL       42   (1-1-1-4-8)
11.   Drew Doughty, LAK   29   (0-0-2-5-4)
12.   Vladimir Tarasenko, STL   13   (0-0-1-1-5)

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.