Skip to Main Content

Panthers rookie Ekblad wins Calder Trophy

by NHL Public Relations

Florida Panthers defenseman Aaron Ekblad has won the Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded "to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League."

Ekblad captured a tight three-way race in balloting, with his total of 1,147 voting points just enough to hold off challengers Mark Stone of the Ottawa Senators (1,078) and Johnny Gaudreau of the Calgary Flames (1,026).

Ekblad, the No. 1 overall selection in the 2014 NHL Draft, set club records for goals (12), assists (27) and points (39) by a rookie defenseman. His 39 points were two shy of the NHL record for an 18-year-old defenseman (at the start of the season), set by Bobby Orr in 1966-67 (13-28—41). Ekblad led the Panthers in plus-minus (+12) and was on the ice for 88 Florida goals scored, the most of any player on the roster.

The Windsor, Ont., native is the second Panthers player in the past three years to be voted the League's top rookie, following Jonathan Huberdeau's Calder Trophy win in 2013.

2014-2015 Calder Trophy Voting


1.Aaron Ekblad, FLA1147(71-39-24-12-8)

2.Mark Stone, OTT1078(47-49-46-11-2)

3.Johnny Gaudreau, CGY1026(33-57-48-19-0)

4.Filip Forsberg, NSH594(6-9-37-91-13)

5.John Klingberg, DAL127(0-2-1-15-63)

6.Mike Hoffman, OTT57(0-1-1-5-30)

7.Kevin Hayes, NYR15(0-0-0-1-12)

8.Michael Hutchinson, WPG13(0-0-0-1-10)

9.Anders Lee, NYI12(0-0-0-1-9)

10.Jake Allen, STL10(0-0-0-1-7)

11.Bo Horvat, VAN2(0-0-0-0-2)

12.Adam Lowry, WPG1(0-0-0-0-1)

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.