Skip to main content

Ovechkin leads First All-Star Team @NHLdotcom
Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin became the first player in NHL history voted a First Team All-Star in each of his first five seasons, highlighting the players named to the League's All-Star Teams for 2009-10.

Ovechkin surpassed the mark of Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame goaltender Bill Durnan, who was named a First-Team All-Star in his first four seasons from 1943-44 through 1946-47. Joining Ovechkin on the First Team is Capitals teammate Mike Green, who earned his second consecutive berth on defense.

Each of the remaining First Team players is a first-time selection, including two Chicago Blackhawks -- defenseman Duncan Keith and right wing Patrick Kane. The last time the Blackhawks boasted as many First-Team All-Stars was in 1992-93 (goaltender Ed Belfour and defenseman Chris Chelios). Vezina Trophy-winning goaltender Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres and Hart Trophy-winning center Henrik Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks complete the First Team.

Among those named to the Second Team is Canucks left wing Daniel Sedin, marking the first time in 36 years that brothers had earned berths on post-season All-Star Teams in the same year. In 1973-74, Boston center Phil Esposito earned First Team honors and Chicago goaltender Tony Esposito was voted to the Second Team.

Joining Daniel Sedin on the Second Team: goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov of the Phoenix Coyotes, defensemen Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings, center Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and right wing Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning.

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

2009-2010 NHL First All-Star Team

G Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres
D Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks
D Mike Green, Washington Capitals
C Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
RW Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
LW Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Second Team

G Ilya Bryzgalov, Phoenix Coyotes
D Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
D Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
C Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
RW Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning
LW Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.