Skip to main content
NHL 100 Classic

Senators alumni game rosters set

Teams will play on Parliament Hill outdoor rink one night before NHL100 Classic @NHLdotcom

OTTAWA -- The rosters for the Sens Alumni Classic on Friday were announced, with Team Alfredsson loading up on offense and Team Phillips stressing defensive-minded players.

Forward Daniel Alfredsson and defenseman Chris Phillips, each of whom played more than 1,000 games for the Senators, selected the teams after an informal practice Thursday at Canadian Tire Centre. The teams will meet Friday at 7 p.m. ET, on the Canada 150 Rink on Parliament Hill.

Alfredsson, who had 1,108 points (426 goals, 682 assists) during his 17 seasons with the Senators, selected forwards Alexei Yashin, Alexandre Daigle and Mike Fisher for his 17-member team.

Fisher, who retired from the Nashville Predators after a run to Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Final in June, had 585 points (276 goals, 309 assists) in 1,088 games with Ottawa and Nashville. Daigle, the No. 1 pick in the 1993 NHL Draft, had 327 points (129 goals, 198 assists) in 616 games with six NHL teams, including 172 points (74 goals, 98 assists) in 301 games with Ottawa. Yashin, the No. 2 pick in the 1992 NHL Draft had 781 points (337 goals, 444 assists) in 850 games for the Senators and the New York Islanders.

Phillips, the No. 1 pick in the 1996 NHL Draft, played all 1,179 games of his NHL career with the Senators. He chose defensemen Wade Redden and Jason Smith among his 18 selections.

Redden, taken with the No. 2 pick in the 1995 NHL Draft by the Islanders, played the first 11 years of his NHL career with the Senators as an elite two-way defenseman. Smith, a rugged defenseman who also played with the New Jersey Devils, Toronto Maple Leafs, Philadelphia Flyers and Edmonton Oilers, finished his NHL career with the Senators in 2008-09.

Also on Team Phillips is forward Chris Neil, who announced his retirement on Thursday.

Patrick Lalime and Damien Rhodes are the goaltenders for Team Alfredsson; Ron Tugnutt and Pascal Leclaire will play for Team Phillips.

Phillips said the result, whatever it is, will be secondary to experiencing the Canada 150 rink under the lights on Friday. He says it will be a night that will produce memories for a lifetime.

"I've been down a couple of times but I was there yesterday at night for the first time and seeing the Parliament building lit up was amazing," Phillips told the team website. "It's going to be like no other scene when you look at all the other outdoor games that have gone on."


Team Alfredsson

Curtis Leschyshyn, Rob Zamuner, Brendan Bell, Shean Donovan, Daniel Alfredsson, Mike Fisher, Radek Bonk, Laurie Boschman, Denis Hamel, Filip Kuba, Alexei Yashin, Magnus Arvedson, Norm Maciver, Randy Robitaille, Alexandre Daigle, Damien Rhodes, Patrick Lalime


Team Phillips

Jim Kyte, Lance Pitlick, Chris Phillips, Wade Redden, Randy Cunneyworth, Martin Havlat, Rob Murphy, Bryan Smolinski, Dennis Vial, Shaun Van Allen, Chris Neil, Janne Laukkanen, Denny Lambert, Todd White, Jason York, Brad Smyth, Ron Tugnutt, Pascal Leclaire

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.