Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CAR @ EDM - 4:14 of Third Period

Original call stands - good goal Hurricanes

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: CAR vs. EDM

Situation Room: Stempniak's second goal stands

The Oilers challenge that there was offsides on Lee Stempniak's goal, but after review, the call stands as a good goal

  • 03:45 •

At 4:14 of the third period in the Hurricanes/Oilers game, Edmonton requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Carolina was off-side prior to Lee Stempniak's goal. 

Review was not conclusive in determining if the puck left the Oilers zone at 3:59. According to Rule 78.7, "If a review is not conclusive and/or there is any doubt whatsoever as to whether the call on the ice was correct, the On-Ice Official(s) will be instructed to confirm their original call."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Carolina Hurricanes. 

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Edmonton Oilers forfeit their time-out. 

--- 

Coach's Challenge 
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios: 

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team. 

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper" 

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or 

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play. 

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. 

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. 

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out. 

View More