Skip to main content

Headlines

NYI @ CAR - 14:07 of the Third Period

NHL.com @NHL

At 14:07 of the third period in the New York Islanders/Carolina Hurricanes game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine how the puck entered the New York net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Hurricanes forward Nathan Gerbe deflected the puck with a high stick before again playing the puck, thereby ending the play. According to Rule 80.1 "Batting the puck above the normal height of the shoulders with a stick is prohibited. When a puck is struck with a high stick and subsequently comes into the possession and control of a player from the offending team, either directly or deflected off any player or official, there shall be a whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands, no goal Carolina.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.