Skip to main content

NSH @ EDM - 1:35 of the First Period @NHLdotcom

At 1:35 of the first period in the Nashville Predators/Edmonton Oilers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Edmonton net. Video review confirmed that the puck did not enter the Edmonton net on Craig Smith's original shot and that the referee was in the process of blowing his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." Therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Nashville.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.