Skip to main content

Nieuwendyk among additions to Alumni Showdown @NHLdotcom

The Detroit Red Wings and Toronto Maple Leafs on Thursday announced the addition of eight more players who will participate in the festivities surrounding the 2012 Maple Leafs vs. Red Wings Alumni Showdown on Dec. 31 at Detroit's Comerica Park as part of the 2012 SiriusXM Hockeytown Winter Festival.

Detroit has added forwards Petr Klima, Dallas Drake, Garry Unger and Paul Ysebaert, while Toronto announced the addition of Hall of Famers Joe Nieuwendyk, Borje Salming, Frank Mahovlich and Mats Sundin.

A seven-time participant in the NHL All-Star Game, Unger appeared in 216 consecutive games for the Red Wings after being acquired in a trade with the Maple Leafs on March 3, 1968. Unger went on to set the League's "iron man" record (later surpassed by Doug Jarvis) by skating in 914 straight contests during his 1,105-games career that included stints with Edmonton, Los Angeles, St. Louis and Calgary.

Selected by the Red Wings in the fifth round (No. 88) of the 1983 Entry Draft, Klima defected to Detroit from Czechoslovakia prior to the 1985-86 season, making him the first player in history to go directly from an Iron Curtain nation to a United States-based NHL team. Klima went on to appear in 293 games for the Red Wings during his first stint in Detroit, tallying 222 points on 129 goals and 93 assists. Traded to Edmonton on Nov. 2, 1989, Klima went on to skate with Edmonton, Tampa Bay, Los Angeles and Pittsburgh prior to returning to the Red Wings in 1998-99, tallying one goal in 13 appearances to finish his NHL career with 313 goals and 260 assists in 786 games.

Acquired from the Devils 11 games into the 1990-91 season, Ysebaert spent 210 of his 532 career NHL games with the Red Wings, totaling 84 goals and 86 assists for Detroit. Ysebaert became the first Red Wing to win the NHL's Plus/Minus Award in 1991-92 after finishing his first full season in the League with a mark of plus-44.

A native of Trail, B.C., Drake played collegiate hockey with the Northern Michigan Wildcats, earning a WCHA First Team All-Star nod in 1992 to go along with NCAA West First Team All-American honors. Detroit's sixth pick (sixth round, No. 116) at the 1989 NHL Draft, Drake made his Red Wings' debut in 1992-93 and was traded to Winnipeg the following season. After a lengthy tenure with the Winnipeg/Phoenix franchise and St. Louis, Drake signed with Detroit as a free agent during the summer of 2007 and the gritty winger went on to end his 1,009-game career in storybook fashion by winning the Stanley Cup with the Red Wings the following spring.

Currently the general manager of the Dallas Stars, Nieuwendyk won three Stanley Cups over the course of his 20-season playing career (Calgary-1989, Dallas-1999, New Jersey-2003) during which he tallied 1,126 points (564 goals, 562 assists) in 1,257 games. During his lone season in Toronto (2003-04), Nieuwendyk recorded 22 goals and 28 assists. In 2011, the Oshawa, Ont., native was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

A 1981 Hockey Hall of Fame inductee, Mahovlich won four Stanley Cups with Toronto between 1962 and 1967, then added two more as a member of the Montréal Canadiens in 1971 and 1973. Having helped Canada defeat the Soviet Union at the 1972 Summit Series, Mahovlich was inducted into the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame in 1990 and was appointed to the Senate of Canada in 1998 by then-Prime Minister Jean Chrétien.

The highest-scoring Swedish-born player in NHL history, Sundin is also the Maple Leafs' all-time leading scorer with 987 points (420 goals, 567 assists) in 981 appearances. A member of Sweden's gold medal-winning squad at the 2006 Winter Olympic Games, Sundin was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame earlier this year and will be officially inducted in November.

Toronto's all-time leading scoring among defensemen with 14 goals and 620 assists, Salming was a five-time NHL Second Team All-Star (1975, 1976, 1978, 1979, 1980) and one-time First Team All-Star (1977) during his 17 seasons with the Maple Leafs. The Swedish-born blueliner was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1996 and the IIHF Hall of Fame in 1998.

Updated alumni rosters for Toronto and Detroit can be found below. Further additions for both teams will be announced in the coming weeks.


Red Berenson Chris Chelios Chris Osgood Scotty Bowman
Jimmy Carson Paul Coffey Mike Vernon Barry Smith
Dino Ciccarelli Mathieu Dandenault  
Alex Delvecchio Jiri Fischer
Kris Draper Viacheslav Fetisov    
Dallas Drake Mark Howe
Sergei Fedorov Vladimir Konstantinov  
Petr Klima Larry Murphy
Joe Kocur Aaron Ward  
Martin Lapointe  
Igor Larionov      
Ted Lindsay    
Kirk Maltby  
Darren McCarty  
John Ogrodnick
Dennis Polonich  
Mickey Redmond  
Luc Robitaille
Gary Unger
Paul Ysebaert


Dave Andreychuk Dave Ellett Johnny Bower Red Kelly
Wendel Clark Jim McKenny Curtis Joseph Pat Quinn
Russ Courtnall Bryan McCabe Mike Palmateer
Vincent Damphousse Bob McGill Felix Potvin
Bill Derlago Borje Salming
Tie Domi
Ron Ellis  
Doug Gilmour  
Gary Leeman  
Kevin Maguire
Frank Mahovlich  
Brad May
Lanny McDonald
Joe Nieuwendyk
Gary Roberts
Darryl Sittler
Mats Sundin
Darcy Tucker  
Rick Vaive
Tiger Williams

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.