Skip to main content

NHL Trophies

NHL Awards

NHL Ted Lindsay Award Winners

Most outstanding players, voted by NHLPA members @NHL

The Ted Lindsay Award (formerly Lester B. Pearson Award) is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association.

The award was first handed out at the conclusion of the 1971-72 NHL season. It honors Hall of Famer Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players' Association. The players' accolade will continue to be presented annually to the "Most Outstanding Player" in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA. 

Wayne Gretzky won the award five times during his career. Members of the Pittsburgh Penguins have won the award the most number of times, with nine winners, followed by the Edmonton Oilers, with six winners.

The Lindsay Award is considered to be the companion of the Hart Memorial Trophy-thirteen players have won both trophies for the same season: Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux , Mark Messier, Brett Hull, Sergei Fedorov, Eric Lindros, Dominik Hasek, Jaromir Jagr, Joe Sakic, Martin St. Louis, Sidney Crosby and Alexander Ovechkin. 

Of those thirteen, only Lafleur, Gretzky, Lemieux, Jagr, St. Louis, Crosby, and Ovechkin have also won the Art Ross Trophy for the same season and completed a Hart-Pearson-Art Ross sweep.


[RELATED: Complete list of NHL Awards and Trophies winners]



Ted Lindsay Award Winners
  • 2018: Connor McDavid , Edmonton Oilers
  • 2017: Connor McDavid , Edmonton Oilers
  • 2016: Patrick Kane , Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2015: Carey Price , Montreal Canadiens
  • 2014: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2013: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2012: Evgeni Malkin , Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2011: Daniel Sedin , Vancouver Canucks
  • 2010: Alex Ovechkin , Washington Capitals
  • 2009: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • 2008: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • 2007: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2006: Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers
  • 2004: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2003: Markus Naslund, Vancouver Canucks
  • 2002: Jarome Iginla , Calgary Flames
  • 2001: Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
  • 2000: Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1999: Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1998: Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1997: Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1996: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1995: Eric Lindros, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1994: Sergei Fedorov, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1993: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1992: Mark Messier, New York Rangers
  • 1991: Brett Hull, St. Louis Blues
  • 1990: Mark Messier, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1989: Steve Yzerman, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1988: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1987: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1986: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1985: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1984: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1983: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1982: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1981: Mike Liut, St. Louis Blues
  • 1980: Marcel Dionne, Los Angeles Kings
  • 1979: Marcel Dionne, Los Angeles Kings
  • 1978: Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1977: Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1976: Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1975: Bobby Orr, Boston Bruins
  • 1974: Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1973: Phil Esposito, Boston Bruins
  • 1972: Jean Ratelle, New York Rangers
  • 1971: Phil Esposito, Boston Bruins
View More