Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: BOS @ TOR - 3:04 of the Second Period

No goal Maple Leafs

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: BOS vs. TOR

Situation Room: Hyman's goal is reversed after review

After Zach Hyman's goal, the Bruins challenge the play for goaltender interference, and after review the call is reversed, no goal

  • 01:49 •

At 3:04 of the second period in the Bruins/Maple Leafs game, Boston requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Toronto's Zach Hyman interfered with Boston goaltender Tuukka Rask prior to his goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referee, the Situation Room determined that the actions of Hyman impaired Rask's ability to defend his goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a "GOAL" call on the ice is that the NHL Situation Room (which shall include a former referee in the Officiating Department in the decision-making process), after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Referee who made the original call, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4." 

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NSH @ COL - 17:37 of the Second Period

No goal Colorado

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NSH vs. COL

Situation Room: Zadorov's no-goal call is confirmed

The Avalanche challenge the no-goal call on Nikita Zadorov, but upon further review, the call stands due to goaltender interference

  • 02:57 •

At 17:37 of the second period in the Predators/Avalanche game, Colorado requested a Coach's Challenge to review the "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referee, the Situation Room confirmed the "no goal" call because the presence and subsequent contact in the crease between Colorado's Carl Soderberg and Nashville's Pekka Rinne prevented the goaltender from doing his job. 

Therefore the original call stands - no goal Colorado Avalanche.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Avalanche forfeit their time-out.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NSH @ COL - 6:46 of the First Period

No goal Nashville

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NSH vs. COL

Situation Room: Predators' no-goal call confirmed

The Predators challenge the no-goal call on Kyle Turris' potential tally, but video review confirms goaltender interference and no score

  • 00:51 •

At 6:46 of the first period in the Predators/Avalanche game, Nashville requested a Coach's Challenge to review the "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referee, the Situation Room confirmed that Nashville's Kyle Turris interfered with Colorado goaltender Andrew Hammond before the puck crossed the goal line.

Therefore the original call stands - no goal Nashville Predators.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Predators forfeit their time-out.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: PIT @ PHI - 17:07 of the Third Period

Original call stands - good goal Philadelphia Flyers

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: PIT vs. PHI

Situation Room: Couturier's goal stands after review

The Penguins challenge Sean Couturier's hat trick goal for goaltender interference, but after review the call stands as a good goal

  • 00:50 •

At 17:07 of the third period in the Penguins/Flyers game, Pittsburgh requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Sean Couturier interfered with Pittsburgh goaltender Matt Murray prior to his goal.

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: COL @ NSH - 10:18 of the Third Period

Good goal Nashville

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: COL vs. NSH

Situation Room: Bonino credited with goal upon review

Nick Bonino has his goal waved off for an apparent kick, but after video review, the referees deem the play a good goal in the 3rd period

  • 03:24 •

At 10:18 of the third period in the Avalanche/Predators game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to examine if Nashville's Nick Bonino kicked the puck into the Colorado net. Video review determined that the puck deflected off of Bonino's skate and entered the Colorado net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Nashville.

View More
Situation Room

Officials Update - COL @ NSH

Referee Francois St-Laurent left due to injury

NHL.com @NHL

Referee Francois St-Laurent has left the Avalanche/Predators game due to injury and is being assessed by medical personnel. Eric Furlatt has entered the game as his replacement.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NSH @ COL - 11:01 of the Third Period

Good goal Colorado Avalanche

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NSH vs. COL

Situation Room: Kerfoot's goal stands after challenge

Alex Kerfoot's goal stands after the Predators challenge for goaltender interference in the 3rd period

  • 02:30 •

At 11:01 of the third period in the Predators/Avalanche game, Nashville requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Colorado's Blake Comeau interfered with Nashville goaltender Pekka Rinne prior to Alexander Kerfoot's goal.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: ANA @ SJS - 0:27 of the Third Period

Original call overturned, no goal Anaheim

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: ANA vs. SJS

Situation Room: Rakell's goal overturned after review

The Sharks challenge Rickard Rakell's tally for potential offsides, and after video review, the call is overturned to no goal

  • 02:33 •

At 0:27 of the third period in the Ducks/Sharks game, San Jose requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Anaheim was off-side prior to Rickard Rakell's goal.

View More
Situation Room

Officials Update - ANA @ SJS

Kovachik leaves Ducks/Sharks game due to injury

NHL.com @NHL

Linesman Brad Kovachik has left the Ducks/Sharks game due to injury and is being assessed by medical personnel.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: TBL @ NJD - 12:21 of the First Period

No goal Tampa Bay

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: TBL vs. NJD

Situation Room: Conacher's goal overturned in 1st

The Devils challenge for offsides prior to Cory Conacher's tally, and after review, the goal is overturned to keep the game tied in the 1st

  • 02:15 •

At 12:21 of the first period in the Lightning/Devils game, New Jersey requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Tampa Bay was off-side prior to Cory Conacher's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Linesman, the Situation Room determined that Tampa Bay's Cedric Paquette was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Toronto Video Room, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Linesman, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed."

View More