Skip to Main Content

NHL, NHLPA conclude latest negotiating session @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK -- The National Hockey League negotiating committee, led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly, and the NHL Players' Association, led by Executive Director Donald Fehr and eight players, concluded a two-day session of negotiations Friday at the League's offices.

A four-hour meeting Friday to work on a new Collective Bargaining Agreement completed the two-day session, which began with a 2 1/2-hour session Thursday.

The next meeting is scheduled for next week.

"We had two productive days of meetings with the NHLPA and the Players, concluding this afternoon at about 1:45 p.m.," Daly said in a statement. "A number of important issues were raised on both sides of the table, all of which will be discussed more thoroughly as we get deeper into bargaining. We are pleased with the level of engagement and look forward to meeting again next week."

The players who joined Fehr for the meeting included John Tavares, Matt Moulson and Rick DiPietro of the New York Islanders, Ruslan Fedotenko of the Philadelphia Flyers, Kevin Westgarth of the Los Angeles Kings, Ron Hainsey of the Winnipeg Jets, Manny Malhotra of the Vancouver Canucks and B.J. Crombeen of the St. Louis Blues.

"We covered a number of different subjects, which is what you do when you're beginning the bargaining process. A lot more to go," Fehr told reporters. "We're not at the beginning in the sense that we're just starting with no preliminary work or anything, but we're at the relatively early stages of the discussions."

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.