Skip to main content


NHL Network U.S. showcases best of CHL with Mastercard Memorial Cup Coverage beginning May 21 @NHL
NEW YORK – For the fourth consecutive year, NHL Network U.S. will showcase the best teams in Canadian major junior hockey as they compete for a national championship title at the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup tournament.  NHL Network U.S will feature a combination of live and tape delayed broadcasts throughout the 10 days of competition from the tournament's host city of Mississauga, Ontario. 

Fans will have the opportunity to see the NHL's future stars and 2011 draft picks as they take to the ice from May 19-29 at the Canadian Hockey League's pinnacle tournament.  Those teams challenging for the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup include Western Hockey League (WHL) champion Kootenay Ice, Ontario Hockey League (OHL) champion Owen Sound Attack and Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) champion Saint John Sea Dogs, plus the host team Mississauga St. Michael's Majors (OHL).

NHL Network U.S. will air Rogers Sportsnet's coverage of all tournament games with the broadcast team of play-by-play man Peter Loubardias, analyst Sam Cosentino and host Rob Faulds. All games will be broadcast in high definition.

Tournament coverage will begin on Saturday, May 21, at 9:00 a.m. ET with the re-broadcast of the previous night's action between the Saint John Sea Dogs and the host Mississauga St. Michael's Majors.  Saint John is led by top-ranked prospects C Jonathan Huberdeau (No. 3 ranked) and D Nathan Beaulieu (No. 5 ranked), two of nine Sea Dogs on NHL Central Scouting's final ranking list.  Mississauga's captain C Casey Cizikas, drafted 92nd by the NY Islanders in 2009, will lead the Majors to their first Memorial Cup appearance since 1961. 

In the second game of Saturday's double-header, NHL Network U.S. will provide live coverage when the Owen Sound Attack take on the Kootenay Ice at 7:00 p.m. ET.  WHL Eastern Conference MVP and Kootenay center Cody Eakin, drafted 85th by the Washington Capitals in 2009, will lead the Ice against Owen Sound, which is coming off a big Game 7 win in the OHL championship series.  The Attack's 17-year-old, draft-eligible goaltender Jordan Binnington only allowed four goals on 70 shots over the last two games of the series.

Additional live game coverage will be added to the NHL Network U.S. schedule as the NHL's Conference Finals series conclude.  Fans are encouraged to check the schedule at for updates.
All of NHL Network's live broadcasts will feature intermissions originating from the NHL Network studio in Toronto.  NHL Network will also feature nightly Memorial Cup coverage on NHL On The Fly with tournament news and notes and game analysis. also will have special coverage of the tournament in its entirety with a team of reporters and videographers on-site to cover the sights and sounds of the CHL's best.  
The 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup tournament features 25 recently drafted players from 20 NHL Clubs and 17 players eligible for the 2011 NHL Entry Draft who have been ranked by NHL Central Scouting.

Kootenay Ice
Brayden McNabb BUF 66th in 2009
Cody Eakin WSH 85th in 2009
Max Reinhart CGY 64th in 2010
Joey Leach CGY 73rd in 2010
Drew Czerwonka EDM 166th in 2010
John Neibrandt 2011 eligible - ranked No. 170
Jagger Dirk 2011 eligible - ranked No. 188

Mississauga St. Michael's Majors
Casey Cizikas NYI 92nd in 2009
Brett Flemming WSH 145th in 2009
Maxim Kitsyn LA 158th in 2009
Devante Smith-Pelly ANA 42nd in 2010
Justin Shugg CAR 105th in 2010
Rob Flick CHI 120th in 2010
Gregg Sutch BUF 143rd in 2010
Stuart Percy 2011 eligible - ranked No. 53
Joseph Cramarossa 2011 eligible - ranked No. 63
Dylan DeMelo 2011 eligible - ranked No. 121

Owen Sound Attack
Jesse Blacker TOR 58th in 2009
Garrett Wilson FLA 107th in 2009
Michael Zador TB 148th in 2009
Scott Stajcer NYR 140th in 2009
Joey Hishon COL 17th in 2010
Geoffrey Schemitsch TB 96th in 2010
Jordan Binnington 2011 eligible - ranked No. 3 Goalie
Andrew Fritsch 2011 eligible - ranked No. 84
Keevin Cutting 2011 eligible - ranked No. 87
Saint John Sea Dogs
Jacob DeSerres PHI 84th in 2008
Simon Després PIT 30th in 2009
Éric Gélinas NJ 54th in 2009
Steven Anthony VAN 187th in 2009
Stanislav Galiev WSH 86th in 2010
Mathieu Corbeil-Thériault CBJ 102nd in 2010
Stephen MacAulay STL 164th in 2010
Jonathan Huberdeau 2011 eligible - ranked No. 3
Nathan Beaulieu 2011 eligible - ranked No. 5
Zack Phillips 2011 eligible - ranked No. 15
Tomas Jurco 2011 eligible - ranked No. 20
Scott Oke 2011 eligible - ranked No. 44
Ryan Tesink 2011 eligible - ranked No. 47
Gabriel Bourret 2011 eligible - ranked No. 92
Aidan Kelly 2011 eligible - ranked No. 94
Jason Cameron 2011 eligible - ranked No. 124
2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup on NHL Network U.S. Schedule (all times Eastern)

Game Time (ET)
Sat., May 21 Saint John vs. Mississauga
9:00 a.m. (tape delay from 5/20)
Owen Sound vs. Kootenay 7:00 p.m. (LIVE)
Sun., May 22 Mississauga vs. Kootenay 7:00 p.m. (LIVE)
Tues., May 24 Owen Sound vs. Saint John 12:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/23)
Wed., May 25 Kootenay vs. Saint John 12:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/24)
Thurs., May 26 Mississauga vs. Owen Sound 12:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/25)
Thurs., May 26 Kootenay vs. Owen Sound (Tie-Breaker) 7:00 p.m. (LIVE)
Fri., May 27 Kooetenay vs. Owen Sound (Tie-Breaker) 12:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/26)
Sat., May 28 Semi-Final: Mississauga vs. Kootenay
1:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/27)
Sun., May 29 Championship Game - Mississauga vs. St. John 7:00 p.m. (LIVE)

** for a complete Memorial Cup schedule, visit
View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.