Skip to main content
NHL Awards

NHL General Manager of the Year Winners

Award has been presented since 2010 @NHLdotcom

An annual award presented to recognize the work of the NHL's general managers.

Voting is conducted among the 31 team general managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the regular season.

The award was first presented in 2010 to Phoenix Coyotes GM Don Maloney.


[RELATED: Complete list of NHL Awards and Trophies winners]



General Manager of the Year Winners
  • 2019: Don Sweeney, Boston Bruins
  • 2018: George McPhee, Vegas Golden Knights
  • 2017: David Poile, Nashville Predators
  • 2016: Jim Rutherford, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2015: Steve Yzerman, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2014: Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks
  • 2013: Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2012: Doug Armstrong, St. Louis Blues
  • 2011: Mike Gillis, Vancouver Canucks
  • 2010: Don Maloney, Phoenix Coyotes
View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.