Skip to Main Content
Press Release

Chiarelli, Dorion, Poile finalists for NHL General Manager of the Year

Oilers, Senators, Predators GMs recognized @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK -- Peter Chiarelli of the Edmonton Oilers, Pierre Dorion of the Ottawa Senators and David Poile of the Nashville Predators are the three finalists for the 2016-17 NHL General Manager of the Year Award, the National Hockey League announced today.

Voting for this award was conducted among the NHL general managers and a panel of League executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the Second Round of the 2017 Stanley Cup Playoffs. The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 21, during the 2017 NHL Awards at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

Following are the finalists for the NHL General Manager of the Year Award, in alphabetical order:


Peter Chiarelli, Edmonton Oilers

Chiarelli assembled a roster that skated to its first 100-point campaign since 1986-87, earned a berth in the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2005-06 and posted a League-leading 33-point improvement over 2015-16. Chiarelli acquired defensemen Adam Larsson (trade) and Kris Russell (free agent) during the offseason, bolstering a blue line that helped the Oilers cut their goals-against total (excluding shootouts) to 207, their fewest over an 82-game season since 2001-02. The first-time NHL Awards finalist also added veteran forwards Milan Lucic (offseason free agent) and David Desharnais (trade deadline) to complement homegrown stars Connor McDavid, Leon Draisaitl, Jordan Eberle and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins.


Pierre Dorion, Ottawa Senators

In his first season at the helm, Dorion oversaw a Senators team that achieved its second-best regular-season record in the past decade, returned to the Stanley Cup Playoffs after a one-year absence and advanced to the Conference Finals for the first time since 2007. Promoted to General Manager in April 2016 after serving the club as assistant GM, director of player personnel and chief amateur scout, Dorion's first major moves were behind the bench, hiring head coach Guy Boucher and associate coach Marc Crawford a month into his tenure. He also traded for center Derick Brassard in the offseason and landed veteran forwards Alexandre Burrows, Viktor Stalberg and Tommy Wingels during the campaign.


David Poile, Nashville Predators

Poile's work helped the Predators earn a postseason berth for the 10th time in 13 seasons and advance to the Conference Finals for the first time. Nashville's leading scorer Viktor Arvidsson, selected 112th overall in 2014, became the latest key player drafted and developed under Poile, joining a list that includes goaltender Pekka Rinne and defensemen Roman Josi, Mattias Ekholm and Ryan Ellis. Poile also has added several influential players via trade, with defenseman P.K. Subban (June 2016) following forwards Ryan Johansen (January 2016), James Neal (June 2014), Filip Forsberg (April 2013) and Mike Fisher (February 2011). Poile is a finalist for the fourth time (previously 2010 through 2012) and in quest of his first win.


2017 NHL Awards Finalists (in alphabetical order)

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Craig Anderson, Ottawa Senators
Andrew Cogliano, Anaheim Ducks
Derek Ryan, Carolina Hurricanes


Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie)
Patrik Laine, Winnipeg Jets
Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs
Zach Werenski, Columbus Blue Jackets


Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Ryan Kesler, Anaheim Ducks
Mikko Koivu, Minnesota Wild


Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player to his team)
Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers


Jack Adams Award (top head coach)
Mike Babcock, Toronto Maple Leafs
Todd McLellan, Edmonton Oilers
John Tortorella, Columbus Blue Jackets


James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)
Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks
Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators


Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability)
Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary Flames
Mikael Granlund, Minnesota Wild
Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis Blues


Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award
Nick Foligno, Columbus Blue Jackets
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames


NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)
Travis Hamonic, New York Islanders
Wayne Simmonds, Philadelphia Flyers


NHL General Manager of the Year Award
Peter Chiarelli, Edmonton Oilers
Pierre Dorion, Ottawa Senators
David Poile, Nashville Predators


Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)
Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers


Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets
Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals
Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens


The winners of the NHL's regular-season statistic-based awards also will be recognized in Las Vegas. Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid captured his first career Art Ross Trophy as the League's scoring champion, Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby claimed his second career Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy as the League's goal-scoring leader and Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals earned the William M. Jennings Trophy as the goaltender who played at least 25 games for the club allowing the fewest goals.


2017 NHL Awards & NHL Expansion Draft at T-Mobile Arena

The 2017 NHL Awards returns to Las Vegas and includes the NHL Expansion Draft in a two-hour television program. The 2017 NHL Awards and NHL Expansion Draft will celebrate the League's top talent from the 2016-17 season and reveal the initial roster of the League's 31st team, the Vegas Golden Knights, on Wednesday, June 21, at T-Mobile Arena.

Televised live in the United States on NBCSN and in Canada on Sportsnet at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT, the 2017 NHL Awards will showcase hockey and Hollywood's biggest stars with the excitement and energy that only Las Vegas can provide. As part of the program, the Golden Knights' 30 selections in the NHL Expansion Draft will be revealed, providing the home fans - and national viewing audience - the opportunity to learn the initial composition of the team's roster. The show will highlight team Majority Owner Bill Foley and General Manager George McPhee as well as select players chosen by the Golden Knights, who begin NHL play in 2017-18.


Ticket Availability

Tickets to the 2017 NHL Awards and NHL Expansion Draft on June 21 are available for purchase. This opportunity is available on a first-come, first-served basis, while supplies last.

A full line-up of presenters and entertainment as well as official fan travel and hospitality packages through PrimeSport will be announced at a future date. In addition, fans can tweet about the event using the official hashtag #NHLAwards.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.