Skip to main content

NHL Trophies

NHL Awards

NHL Foundation Player Award Winners

Perseverance, teamwork in the community since 1998 @NHL

The NHL Foundation Player Award is awarded annually to the National Hockey League (NHL) player "who applies the core values of (ice) hockey-commitment, perseverance and teamwork-to enrich the lives of people in his community."

Sixteen players have won the NHL Foundation Player Award since its inception; when Kelly Chase was awarded the inaugural NHL Foundation Player Award in 1998. No player has ever won the award twice.

The award is closely related to the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, as both are awarded to a player who has made a significant humanitarian contribution to his community. 


[RELATED: Complete list of NHL Awards and Trophies winners]



NHL Foundation Player Award Winners
  • 2017: Travis Hamonic , New York Islanders
  • 2016: Mark Giordano , Calgary Flames
  • 2015: Brent Burns , San Jose Sharks
  • 2014: Patrice Bergeron , Boston Bruins
  • 2013: Henrik Zetterberg , Detroit Red Wings
  • 2012: Mike Fisher , Nashville Predators
  • 2011: Dustin Brown , Los Angeles Kings
  • 2010: Ryan Miller , Buffalo Sabres
  • 2009: Rick Nash , Columbus Blue Jackets
  • 2008: Trevor Linden/Vincent Lecavalier, Vancouver Canucks/Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2007: Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
  • 2006: Marty Turco, Dallas Stars
  • 2004: Jarome Iginla , Calgary Flames
  • 2003: Darren McCarty, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2002: Ron Francis, Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2001: Olaf Kolzig, Washington Capitals
  • 2000: Adam Graves, New York Rangers
  • 1999: Rob Ray, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1998: Kelly Chase, St. Louis Blues
View More