Skip to Main Content
NHL Awards

NHL Foundation Player Award Winners

Awarded since 1998 to honor perseverance, teamwork in community @NHLdotcom

The NHL Foundation Player Award, awarded annually since 1998, honors the player "who applies the core values of (ice) hockey -- commitment, perseverance and teamwork -- to enrich the lives of people in his community."

A total of 20 players have won the award, beginning with Kelly Chase of the St. Louis Blues in 1998. Vincent Lecavalier of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Trevor Linden of the Vancouver Canucks shared the award in 2008. No player has won twice.

The award is closely related to the King Clancy Memorial Trophy; each is awarded to a player who has made a significant humanitarian contribution to his community.


[RELATED: Complete list of NHL Awards and Trophies winners]



NHL Foundation Player Award Winners
  • 2017: Travis Hamonic , New York Islanders
  • 2016: Mark Giordano , Calgary Flames
  • 2015: Brent Burns , San Jose Sharks
  • 2014: Patrice Bergeron , Boston Bruins
  • 2013: Henrik Zetterberg , Detroit Red Wings
  • 2012: Mike Fisher, Nashville Predators
  • 2011: Dustin Brown , Los Angeles Kings
  • 2010: Ryan Miller , Buffalo Sabres
  • 2009: Rick Nash, Columbus Blue Jackets
  • 2008: Trevor Linden/Vincent Lecavalier, Vancouver Canucks/Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2007: Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
  • 2006: Marty Turco, Dallas Stars
  • 2004: Jarome Iginla , Calgary Flames
  • 2003: Darren McCarty, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2002: Ron Francis, Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2001: Olaf Kolzig, Washington Capitals
  • 2000: Adam Graves, New York Rangers
  • 1999: Rob Ray, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1998: Kelly Chase, St. Louis Blues
View More