Skip to main content
Press Release

NHL fans vote 32 moments into second round

Round Two balloting now open at

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

NEW YORK / TORONTO - Following one round of voting, the National Hockey League today unveiled the 32 moments remaining in the Greatest NHL® Moments Presented by Coors Light and Pepsi Zero Sugar. Round 2 of this bracket-style, interactive, digital and mobile program is now open at, giving fans the opportunity to select the Greatest NHL Moment of all time among dozens of memorable events, milestones and achievements -- spanning from the League's inaugural season in 1917-18 to present day. To view the Greatest NHL Moments trailer, click here.

For the next five weeks, fans can continue to define history and vote for their favorite moment and join the conversation using the hashtag #NHLGreatestMoments. Determined by a blue ribbon panel consisting of broadcasters from NHL national rightsholders NBC Sports Group, NHL Network, Sportsnet and TVA, the original 64 moments were placed into a bracket style format, and divided into four regions: Hart Region, Norris Region, Calder Region and Vezina Region. Each moment is brought to life with a video vignette.

Among the 32 moments advancing to Round 2 are:

• 1994: Wayne Gretzky surpasses Gordie Howe's all-time goal-scoring record with no. 802

• 1988: Mario Lemieux scores five different ways

• 1958: Willie O'Ree becomes the NHL's first black player

• 2016: Auston Matthews scores four goals in his NHL debut

• 1983: Islanders win their fourth consecutive Stanley Cup

• 2001: Joe Sakic hands the Stanley Cup to Ray Bourque

• 1945: Rocket Richard becomes the first player to have a 50-goal season

• 1970: Bobby Orr's iconic OT goal wins the Stanley Cup for the Boston Bruins

• 1993: Teemu Selanne's 76 goals sets a rookie record

• 1994: Mark Messier's guarantee and hat trick lead to Matteau's OT goal

Round 2 concludes Oct. 31. Round 3 voting, featuring 16 moments, will be Nov. 1-7. Round 4 voting is from Nov. 8-14. The semifinals and Final voting will be Nov. 15-21 and Nov. 22-28, respectively. 

The Greatest NHL® Moment will be announced during the 2017 Scotiabank NHL100 Classic™ on Saturday, December 16, featuring the Ottawa Senators and Montreal Canadiens at Lansdowne Park in Ottawa (7 p.m. ET, CBC, TVA Sports, NBCSN).

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.