Skip to main content

Headlines's Bonanno named fantasy award finalist @NHL's Rocky Bonanno  has been named a finalist for the 2009 Fantasy Hockey Writer of the Year presented by the Fantasy Sports Writers Association.

Also nominated are Sean Allen of ESPN and Scott Pianowski of Yahoo!

This year the not-for-profit organization collected close to 1,000 articles from more than 150 participating writers. The annual writing contest has grown in each of its six years.

"This contest demands hundreds of volunteer hours from our executive staff and judges," said Mike Beacom, FSWA president and chairman, "but the increased interest in the awards suggests all of that hard work is well worth it."

The FSWA Executive Committee collects all of the entries and guides the two-step process, which includes a round of judging by the FSWA Board of Directors and then by an independent panel of journalism academics. FSWA Executive Committee members are ineligible to compete.

Judging for this year's awards has now been completed and the winners will be announced at the Winter FSTA Business Conference and Research Symposium in Las Vegas on Jan. 26, 2010.
View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.