Skip to Main Content

NHL Awards Winners @NHLdotcom

Winners of the 2008-2009 NHL awards, presented Thursday night at the Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas. Voting is by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, except the Vezina which is awarded by NHL general managers, and the Adams which is determined by a poll of NHL Broadcasters' Association members.

Hart Memorial Trophy, MVP - Alexander Ovechkin, Washington.

Vezina Trophy, goaltender - Tim Thomas, Boston.

James Norris Memorial Trophy, defenseman - Zdeno Chara, Boston.

Calder Memorial Trophy, rookie - Steve Mason, Columbus.

Frank J. Selke Trophy, defensive forward - Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, most gentlemanly - Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit.

Jack Adams Award, coach - Claude Julien, Boston.

King Clancy Trophy, humanitarian contribution to hockey - Ethan Moreau, Edmonton.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, perserverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey - Steve Sullivan, Nashville.

Lifetime Achievement Award - Jean Beliveau.

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award - Jarome Iginla, Calgary.


Art Ross Trophy, points scoring leader - Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh.

Maurice Richard Trophy, goal-scoring leader - Alexander Ovechkin, Washington.

William M. Jennings Trophy, goalies with fewest goals against, minimum 25 games - Tim Thomas and Manny Fernandez, Boston


Lester B. Pearson Award, outstanding player - Alexander Ovechkin, Washington.

View More