Skip to main content

NHL announces 2013-14 All-Star Teams @NHLdotcom

Center Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and defenseman Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins, who each earned his third career berth on the First All-Star Team, head the list of players voted to the 2013-14 National Hockey League postseason All-Star Teams. Crosby received First Team honors for the second consecutive season, while Chara earned a spot on the First Team for the first time since 2008-09.

Joining Crosby and Chara are two second-time selections to the First Team, right wing Corey Perry of the Anaheim Ducks and defenseman Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks. The squad also features two first-time recipients, left wing Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars and goaltender Tuukka Rask of the Bruins.

Among those named to the Second Team is Washington Capitals right wing Alex Ovechkin, voted to the team for the third time. Also a six-time honoree on the First Team, Ovechkin's nine career postseason All-Star Team selections are the most among active players, one more than Jaromir Jagr (7 First Team, 1 Second Team).

Joining Ovechkin are St. Louis Blues defenseman Alex Pietrangelo, named to the Second Team for the second time in three seasons, and four players receiving their first career berth on the Second Team: goaltender Semyon Varlamov of the Colorado Avalanche, defenseman Shea Weber of the Nashville Predators, center Ryan Getzlaf of the Anaheim Ducks and left wing Joe Pavelski of the San Jose Sharks.

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.