Skip to Main Content

NHL announces 2008-09 All-Star teams @NHLdotcom
LAS VEGAS -- Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin, voted a First Team All-Star for the fourth time in as many NHL seasons, highlights the players named to the League's First and Second All-Star Teams for 2008-09.

Ovechkin is the second player in League history to earn First Team honors in each of his first four NHL seasons and the first since Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame goaltender Bill Durnan was named from 1943-44 through 1946-47.

Joining Ovechkin on the First Team is Washington defenseman Mike Green, marking the first time in franchise history the Capitals have placed multiple players on a First Team.

The Boston Bruins also placed two players on the First Team, goaltender Tim Thomas and defenseman Zdeno Chara. The last time the Bruins boasted as many was in 1973-74 (defenseman Bobby Orr, center Phil Esposito and right wing Ken Hodge). Jarome Iginla of the Calgary Flames earned his third career First Team berth at right wing and Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins earned his second consecutive selection at center.

Three members of the Detroit Red Wings have earned a place on the Second Team. Center Pavel Datsyuk and right wing Marian Hossa each has earned his first career selection, while defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom is making his Second Team debut after nine First Team berths in 10 seasons. Rounding out the team: Columbus Blue Jackets goaltender Steve Mason, the first rookie goaltender to earn a post-season All-Star berth since Chicago's Ed Belfour was named to the First Team in 1990-91; New Jersey Devils left wing Zach Parise (first career selection) and San Jose Sharks defenseman Dan Boyle (second).

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

2008-2009 NHL First All-Star Team

G - Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins
D - Mike Green, Washington Capitals
D - Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
C - Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins
RW - Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
LW - Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

2008-2009 NHL Second All-Star Team

G - Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets
D - Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
D - Dan Boyle, San Jose Sharks
C - Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
RW - Marian Hossa, Detroit Red Wings
LW - Zach Parise, New Jersey Devils



View More