Skip to main content

NHL announces rosters, coaches for All-Star Game

Rookies Auston Matthews, Patrik Laine among 40 players who'll join four fan-elected captains

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

NEW YORK -- The National Hockey League announced today the full roster of players as well as the head coaches for the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Weekend, which will be held Jan. 28-29 at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles.

Forty players were selected by the NHL, joining the four division captains elected by fans via the 2017 NHL All-Star Fan Vote: Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens (Atlantic), P.K. Subban of the Nashville Predators (Central), Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins (Metropolitan) and Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers (Pacific).

Below are the complete rosters for each division, comprised of six forwards, three defensemen and two goaltenders per team:


2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game Rosters

Atlantic Division 

F   Nikita Kucherov (TBL)  
F   Brad Marchand (BOS) 
F   Auston Matthews (TOR)   
F   Frans Nielsen (DET)   
F   Kyle Okposo (BUF)  
F   Vincent Trocheck (FLA)   
D   Victor Hedman (TBL)  
D   Erik Karlsson (OTT)   
D   Shea Weber (MTL)   
G   Carey Price (MTL)*   
G   Tuukka Rask (BOS)   

Central Division

F   Patrick Kane (CHI)
F   Patrik Laine (WPG)
F   Nathan MacKinnon (COL)
F   Tyler Seguin (DAL)
F   Vladimir Tarasenko (STL)
F   Jonathan Toews (CHI)
D   Duncan Keith (CHI)
D   P.K. Subban (NSH)*
D   Ryan Suter (MIN)
G   Corey Crawford (CHI)
G   Devan Dubnyk (MIN)

Metropolitan Division

F   Sidney Crosby (PIT)*
F   Taylor Hall (NJD)
F   Evgeni Malkin (PIT)
F   Alex Ovechkin (WSH)
F   Wayne Simmonds (PHI)
F   John Tavares (NYI)
D   Justin Faulk (CAR)
D   Seth Jones (CBJ)
D   Ryan McDonagh (NYR)
G   Sergei Bobrovsky (CBJ)
G   Braden Holtby (WSH)

Pacific Division

F   Jeff Carter (LAK)
F   Johnny Gaudreau (CGY)
F   Bo Horvat (VAN)
F   Ryan Kesler (ANA)
F   Connor McDavid (EDM)*
F   Joe Pavelski (SJS)
D   Brent Burns (SJS)
D   Drew Doughty (LAK)
D   Cam Fowler (ANA)
G   Martin Jones (SJS)
G   Mike Smith (ARI)

* Fan-elected captain


2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game Head Coaches

The four head coaches for the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Weekend will be Michel Therrien of the Montreal Canadiens (Atlantic), Bruce Boudreau of the Minnesota Wild (Central), John Tortorella of the Columbus Blue Jackets (Metropolitan) and Peter DeBoer of the San Jose Sharks (Pacific).

Under the All-Star selection process, the head coach of the team with the highest points percentage (points earned divided by total possible points) in each of the four divisions through games of Tuesday, Jan. 10 - the halfway point of the regular season - will guide the respective All-Star rosters.

Therrien's Canadiens (.683, 25-10-6) are guaranteed of posting the top points percentage in the Atlantic Division through tonight, while Boudreau's Wild (.705, 25-9-5), Tortorella's Blue Jackets (.769, 28-7-4) and DeBoer's Sharks (.625, 24-14-2) similarly have wrapped up first place in the Central, Metropolitan and Pacific Divisions, respectively.


More Information

The 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game again will be a three-game tournament, played in a 3-on-3 format, featuring teams representing each NHL division.

The Los Angeles Kings, who are celebrating their 50th anniversary, and the city of Los Angeles will play host to the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Weekend. The festivities begin with the opening of the 2017 NHL Fan Fair, including the NHL Centennial Fan Arena, on Thursday, Jan. 26; continue with the celebration of the 100 Greatest NHL Players at THE NHL100 on Friday, Jan. 27 (6:30 p.m. PT / 9:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN, SN, TVAS) and the 2017 Coors Light NHL All-Star Skills Competition on Saturday, Jan. 28 (4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET, NBCSN, CBC, SN, TVAS); and conclude with the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 29 (12:30 p.m. PT / 3:30 p.m. ET, NBC, CBC, SN, TVAS). Visit for more information.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.