Skip to main content
Situation Room

Video Review: NYR @ BUF - 7:22 of the Second Period

This is not a reviewable play; referee's call on ice stands @NHL

At 7:22 of the second period in the Rangers/Sabres game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Buffalo net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he was in the process of blowing his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal New York. 

View More