Skip to main content

Headlines

Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NYI @ MIN - 17:00 of the First Period

No goal Minnesota

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NYI vs. MIN

Situation Room: Stewart's goal overturned in 1st

The Islanders challenge Chris Stewart's goal in the 1st for goaltender interference, and the call on the ice is overturned after further review

  • 02:25 •

At 17:00 of the first period in the Islanders/Wild game, New York requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Minnesota's Marcus Foligno interfered with Islanders' goaltender Thomas Greiss before the puck entered the net. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Foligno's actions caused New York's Casey Cizikas to contact Greiss before the puck crossed the goal line, preventing him from doing his job in the crease. The decision was made in accordance with Rule 78.7 which states in part: "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee ... determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4." 

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Minnesota Wild. 

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the New York Islanders retain their time-out. 

--- 

Rule 78.7: Coach's Challenge 
A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios: 


1. "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-side" infraction by the attacking team. 

New for 2017-18: If the result of the challenge is that the play was "On-side", the goal shall count and the team that issued the challenge shall be assessed a minor penalty for delaying the game. 


2. Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper" 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or 

A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play. 

Updated for 2017-18: A team may only request a Coach's Challenge for Interference on the Goalkeeper if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out. 

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.