Skip to main content
Situation Room

Video Review: NJD @ FLA - 6:50 of the First Period

No goal New Jersey

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: NJD vs. FLA

Situation Room: Stafford's no-goal confirmed

The officials rule that Drew Stafford touched the puck with a high stick before scoring, and confirm the call after video review

  • 01:58 •

At 6:50 of the first period in the Devils/Panthers game, the immediate call by the Referee on the ice was good goal. The officials then huddled and determined that Drew Stafford's stick was above the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Florida net. Therefore, the original call is overturned. The Situation Room confirmed the officials call on the ice. According to Rule 80.3 "When an attacking player causes the puck to enter the opponent's goal by contacting the puck above the height of the crossbar, either directly or deflected off any player or official, the goal shall not be allowed." No goal New Jersey.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.