Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Video Review: NJD @ EDM - 14:25 of the Third Period

Good goal New Jersey @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: NJD vs. EDM

Situation Room: Gibbons' goal stands after review

Brian Gibbons' goal in the 3rd is looked at to see if it went in off of a high stick, and after review, the call on the ice is upheld

  • 02:13 •

At 14:25 of the third period in the Devils/Oilers game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Brian Gibbons' stick was at or below the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Edmonton net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed". Good goal New Jersey.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.