Skip to main content

Mohr returns to Las Vegas to host 2011 NHL Awards @NHLdotcom
Actor, writer and comedian Jay Mohr will return to Las Vegas in June to host the 2011 NHL Awards and honor the League's biggest stars for the second straight year, it was announced on Monday.

The best hockey players in the world will come together with Mohr and celebrities from music, stage and screen for the 2011 NHL Awards on Wednesday, June 22, at the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas (7 p.m. ET, VERSUS in the U.S. and CBC in Canada).

"I am really excited to return to Las Vegas for the 2011 NHL Awards in June," Mohr said. "I had a great time hosting the event last year and look forward to celebrating this season's top hockey performances -- and the chance to poke a little fun, too."

The multi-talented Mohr's career has spanned three decades. He has appeared in more than 25 films, beginning with his breakthrough role as a rival sports agent in the blockbuster hit Jerry Maguire and most recently in the Warner Brothers thriller Hereafter opposite Matt Damon and directed by Clint Eastwood. A well-known stand-up comedian and featured player on the 1993-94 and 1994-95 seasons of Saturday Night Live, Mohr's small screen credits include his starring role in the CBS show Gary Unmarried and the long-running NBC series Last Comic Standing, which he also created and executive produced. Mohr is an avid sports fan and frequent sports show guest. 

Dave Broome will bring his creative vision to the show for the second straight year as Executive Producer of the 2011 NHL Awards.

"It's an honor to be asked back to produce this year's NHL Awards show," Broome said. "Last year's show was truly a fun celebration of hockey and I'm looking forward to continuing that vision even further this year. I think the audience is really going to be excited for what we have in store for them."

At the close of the 2010-11 NHL regular season in April, three members of the Vancouver Canucks, who helped their club capture the Presidents' Trophy for posting the NHL's best record, added individual awards to their collection. Left wing Daniel Sedin won his first career Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring leader, while Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider earned the William Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders on the club allowing the fewest goals. Anaheim Ducks right wing Corey Perry captured the Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy as the League's goal-scoring leader. The four trophy winners will be honored at the 2011 NHL Awards.

A full line up of celebrity guests, presenters and entertainment will be announced in the coming weeks. For more information, visit

Tickets to the 2011 NHL Awards are on sale now via at and at the Pearl Concert Theater Box Office. Tickets include access to the 2011 NHL Awards show and the official NHL Awards Party, a cocktail reception to be held immediately following the show. Guests must be 21 or older to attend the NHL Awards Party.

Official 2011 NHL Awards travel packages, including reserved tickets, accommodations at The Palms Hotel, souvenir gifts and more, are available via Global Event Forum, the Official NHL Events Fan Package Partner, at

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.