Skip to Main Content
Masterton Trophy

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy nominations announced

Boyle, Luongo among those up for award for perseverance, sportsmanship, dedication @NHLdotcom

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded annually by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to ice hockey.

A player from each team is nominated by the local chapter. Those nominations are being revealed Tuesday. The list will be narrowed to three finalists and a winner will be named at the NHL Awards show in June in Las Vegas.

Below is a list of the nominees, which will be updated as each nomination is announced:

Anaheim Ducks:

Arizona Coyotes: Jakob Chychrun, D

Boston Bruins: David Backes, F

Buffalo Sabres: Kyle Okposo, F

Calgary Flames: Matt Stajan, F

Carolina Hurricanes: Jordan Staal, F

Chicago Blackhawks: Jeff Glass, G

Colorado Avalanche: Carl Soderberg, F

Columbus Blue Jackets: Zach Werenski, D

Dallas Stars: Mattias Janmark, F

Detroit Red Wings:

Edmonton Oilers: Adam Larsson, D

Florida Panthers: Roberto Luongo, G

Los Angeles Kings: Dustin Brown, F

Minnesota Wild: Matt Cullen, F

Montreal Canadiens: Antti Niemi, G

Nashville Predators: Austin Watson, F

New Jersey Devils: Brian Boyle, F

New York Islanders: Josh Bailey, F

New York Rangers: Chris Kreider, F

Ottawa Senators: Mark Borowiecki, D

Philadelphia Flyers: Claude Giroux, F

Pittsburgh Penguins, Kris Letang, D

St. Louis Blues: Carter Hutton, G

San Jose Sharks: Joe Thornton, F

Tampa Bay Lightning: Steven Stamkos, F

Toronto Maple Leafs: Roman Polak, D

Vancouver Canucks: Derek Dorsett, F

Vegas Golden Knights: Brad Hunt, D

Washington Capitals: Devante Smith-Pelley, F

Winnipeg Jets: Tyler Myers, D

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.