Skip to Main Content

Mason wins Calder Trophy as NHL's top rookie @NHLdotcom

LAS VEGAS (AP) -Columbus Blue Jackets goalie Steve Mason has won the Calder Trophy as the NHL rookie of the year.

Mason beat Anaheim's Bobby Ryan and Chicago's Kris Versteeg for the first award handed out Thursday night at the NHL awards ceremony.

Mason topped the league with 10 shutouts and ranked second with a 2.29 goals-against average, leading Columbus to its first playoff appearance. He was the first rookie to lead the NHL in shutouts since Chicago's Tony Esposito in 1970.

Ryan led rookies with 31 goals, despite playing only 64 games. Versteeg topped first-year players with 31 assists to help the Blackhawks reach the postseason for the first time since 2002.

View More