Skip to main content

Marlies D-man Brennan wins Eddie Shore Award @NHLdotcom

TJ Brennan of the Toronto Marlies has been voted the winner of the Eddie Shore Award as the American Hockey League's outstanding defenseman for the 2013-14 season.

The award honors the late Eddie Shore, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame and AHL Hall of Fame who won the Calder Cup five times. It is voted on by coaches, players and members of the media in each of the AHL's 30 cities.

Brennan is fifth in the AHL with 69 points (24 goals, 45 assists) in 73 games, the most by an AHL defenseman since 2005-06 and the most goals since 1999-2000. He leads the league in power-play points (42) and shots on goal (256) and defensemen in power-play goals (12) and game-winning goals (four, tied).

Selected by the Buffalo Sabres in the second round (No. 31) of the 2007 NHL Draft, Brennan began the season with 10 points, including two hat tricks, in his first three games, and has 15 multipoint games and five scoring streaks of five games each. He is the sixth American-born defenseman to win the Eddie Shore Award in its 56-year history.

Brennan has 75 goals and 121 assists in 298 AHL games with Toronto, an affiliate of the Toronto Maple Leafs; Rochester and Portland. He has four goals and seven assists in 40 NHL games with the Sabres and Florida Panthers.

Previous recipients of the Eddie Shore Award include Steve Kraftcheck (1959), Al Arbour (1965), Jim Morrison (1966), Noel Price (1970, '72, '76), Brian Engblom (1977), Terry Murray (1978, '79), Dave Farrish (1982), Brad Shaw (1987), Dave Fenyves (1988, '89), Eric Weinrich (1990), Darren Rumble (1997), John Slaney (2001, '02), Niklas Kronwall (2005), Sheldon Brookbank (2007), Johnny Boychuk (2009), Mark Barberio (2012) and Justin Schultz (2013).

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.