Skip to main content

NHL Trophies

NHL Awards

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award Winners

Player chosen by Messier who exemplifies leadership on, off ice @NHL

The Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award has been awarded since 2006-07 and is awarded "to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season."

Suggestions for nominees are solicited from fans, clubs and NHL personnel, but the selection of the three finalists and the ultimate winner is made by Messier, one of the finest leaders in NHL history; the six-time Stanley Cup champion is one of three players to have captained three teams (Edmonton, N.Y. Rangers, Vancouver).


[RELATED: Complete list of NHL Awards and Trophies winners]



Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award Winners
  • 2018: Deryk Engelland , Vegas Golden Knights
  • 2017: Nick Foligno , Columbus Blue Jackets
  • 2016: Shea Weber , Nashville Predators
  • 2015: Jonathan Toews , Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2014: Dustin Brown , Los Angeles Kings
  • 2013: Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators
  • 2012: Shane Doan , Phoenix Coyotes
  • 2011: Zdeno Chara , Boston Bruins
  • 2010: Sidney Crosby , Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2009: Jarome Iginla , Calgary Flames
  • 2008: Mats Sundin, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 2007: Chris Chelios, Detroit Red Wings
View More