Skip to Main Content
Press Release

Lemieux vs. Orr in Greatest Moment final

Penguins center's unique five-goal night matched against Bruins defenseman's iconic Stanley Cup winner; voting runs through Nov. 29

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

NEW YORK / TORONTO - Following five rounds of voting, fans have selected the two moments that will go head-to-head in the final of the Greatest NHL® Moments Presented by Coors Light and Pepsi Zero Sugar. The bracket-style, interactive, digital and mobile program started with 64 of the NHL's most memorable events, milestones and achievements -- spanning from the League's inaugural season in 1917-18 to present day.

Mario Lemieux's moment from Dec. 31, 1988 where the Pittsburgh Penguin captain became the first player to score goals five different ways in the same game will go head-to-head against Bobby Orr's goal 40 seconds into overtime, which ended the Bruins' 29-year Stanley Cup® drought on May 10, 1970.

Final round voting is open now at and runs through Nov. 28. The Greatest NHL® Moment will be announced during the 2017 Scotiabank NHL100 Classic™ on Saturday, Dec. 16, featuring the Ottawa Senators and Montreal Canadiens at Lansdowne Park in Ottawa (7 p.m. ET, CBC, TVA Sports, NBCSN).


Tale of the Tape

• Lemieux had two moments in the original 64, with the goals five different ways moment defeating Peter and Anton Stastny scoring 8 points each, Wayne Gretzky's 802nd goal, the New York Islanders winning their fourth consecutive Stanley Cup® championship, Darryl Sittler's record-setting 10-point game, and Gretzky's 50 goals in a record-setting 39 games.

• Orr also had two moments in the original 64, with the overtime Stanley Cup-winning goal moment defeating Mud Bruneteau winning the longest game, Steve Yzerman's Game 7 Western Conference Semifinal double-overtime goal in 1996, Joe Sakic handing the Stanley Cup® to Ray Bourque to raise in Bourque's final NHL game, Gordie Howe becoming the first player in NHL history to reach 1,000 career points and Teemu Selanne setting the rookie goal-scoring record.


Throughout the final round of voting, fans can select their favorite moment and join the conversation using the hashtag #NHLGreatestMoments. The original 64 moments, as determined by a Blue Ribbon panel consisting of broadcasters from NHL national rightsholders NBC Sports Group, NHL Network™, Sportsnet and TVA, were placed into a bracket style format, and divided into four regions: Hart Region, Norris Region, Calder Region and Vezina Region. Each moment has been brought to life with a video vignette on the site.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.