Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Video Review: LAK @ CGY - 3:46 of the Second Period

Original call is upheld - Goal Los Angeles @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: LAK vs. CGY

Situation Room: Kovalchuk's goal upheld

Ilya Kovalchuk's goal in the 2nd is reviewed for a high stick, and after review, the call on the ice stands

  • 02:40 •

Type of Review: High-Sticking the Puck

Result: Original call is upheld - Goal Los Angeles

Explanation: Video review supported the Referee's call on the ice that Ilya Kovalchuk's stick was at or below the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Calgary net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed."

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.