Skip to Main Content

Lightning's Yzerman voted GM of the Year

by NHL Public Relations

Steve Yzerman of the Tampa Bay Lightning is the 2014-15 winner of the NHL General Manager of the Year Award. Voting for this award was conducted among the 30 Club General Managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the Second Round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

After leading Tampa Bay to the Conference Finals in 2010-11, his first season in charge, Yzerman oversaw the rebuild to a roster that returned to the final four with just two holdovers from the 2011 squad, cornerstone center Steven Stamkos and defenseman Victor Hedman. Bolstered by key acquisitions through the draft (Nikita Kucherov, Ondrej Palat), via free agency (Brian Boyle, Valtteri Filppula, Tyler Johnson, Anton Stralman) and trades (Ben Bishop, Ryan Callahan, Braydon Coburn, Jason Garrison), the Lightning set franchise records with 50 wins and 108 points during the regular season. They also led the League with 262 goals and 32 home wins.

2014-2015 NHL General Manager of the Year Award Voting


1.Steve Yzerman, TBL80(9-10-5)

2.Glen Sather, NYR49(7-3-5)

3.Bob Murray, ANA36(3-6-3)

4.Bryan Murray, OTT32(5-1-4)

5.Garth Snow, NYI28(3-3-4)

6.David Poile, NSH24(2-4-2)

7.Kevin Cheveldayoff, WPG19(2-2-3)

8.Chuck Fletcher, MIN19(1-3-5)

9.Brad Treliving, CGY15(3-0-0)

10.Stan Bowman, CHI13(1-2-2)

11.Brian MacLellan, WSH11(1-2-0)

12.Ken Holland, DET5(0-1-2)

13.Jim Benning, VAN1(0-0-1)

Marc Bergevin, MTL1(0-0-1)

View More