Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: ANA @ TBL - 8:14 of First Period

Original call stands - good goal Ducks

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: ANA vs. TBL

Situation Room: Montour's goal stands after challenge

The Lightning challenge that the Ducks were offsides prior to Brandon Montour's goal and the original goal call stands in the 1st period

  • 05:06 •

At 8:14 of the first period in the Ducks/Lightning game, Tampa Bay requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Anaheim was off-side before Brandon Montour's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesman, NHL Hockey Operations staff was inconclusive in determining whether Anaheim was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "If a review is not conclusive and/or there is any doubt whatsoever as to whether the call on the ice was correct, the On-Ice Official(s) will be instructed to confirm their original call."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Anaheim Ducks. 

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Tampa Bay Lightning forfeit their time-out.

View More