Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: TBL @ COL - 10:44 of Third Period

Original call is overturned - no goal Lightning

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: TBL vs. COL

Situation Room: Johnson's goal overturned

The Avalanche challenge that there was goalie interference prior to Tyler Johnson's goal, and after review, the goal is overturned

  • 02:38 •

At 10:44 of the third period in the Lightning/Avalanche game, Colorado requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Tampa Bay's Tyler Johnson interfered with Colorado goaltender Calvin Pickard prior to his goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Johnson interfered with Pickard before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Tampa Bay Lightning. 

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Colorado Avalanche retain their time-out. 

View More