Skip to Main Content
Lady Byng Trophy

Barkov, Eriksson, Kopitar named Lady Byng finalists

Winner will be announced during 2016 NHL Awards on June 22

by @NHL

Los Angeles Kings center Anze Kopitar might need to find some extra room in his trophy case.

Kopitar was named a finalist for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded "to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability."

The other finalists are Aleksander Barkov of the Florida Panthers and Loui Eriksson of the Boston Bruins.

The winner will be announced during the 2016 NHL Awards on June 22 at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

Kopitar also is a finalist for the Selke Trophy, awarded to the League's top defensive forward.

In 81 games this season, Kopitar led the Kings with 74 points and was second in the League with a plus-34 rating (teammate Tyler Toffoli was plus-35). He had 16 penalty minutes averaging 20:52 of ice time per game.  

Kopitar finished third in Lady Byng voting last season. The last Kings player to win the Lady Byng was Wayne Gretzky in 1994.

Barkov had NHL career-bests this season in goals (28), assists (31) and points (59), and had eight penalty minutes in 66 games. He is the first Panthers player to be a Lady Byng finalist since defenseman Brian Campbell won the award in 2012.

Eriksson is a Lady Byng finalist for the second time; he was third in voting in 2011. This season he had 30 goals and 63 points, and 12 penalty minutes in 82 games. The last Bruins player to win the Lady Byng was Rick Middleton in 1982.

Jiri Hudler of the Calgary Flames won the award last season.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.