Skip to main content


Ladd, Getzlaf, Toews named finalists for Mark Messier Leadership Award @NHL

NEW YORK, N.Y. - Forwards Andrew Ladd of the Winnipeg Jets, Ryan Getzlaf of the Anaheim Ducks, and Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks have been named the three finalists for the Mark Messier Leadership Award.

The league announced the finalists on Monday for the award that goes "to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice, during the regular season."

Messier solicits suggestions from club and League personnel as well as NHL fans to compile a list of potential candidates for the award, but the selection of the finalists and ultimate winner is Messier's alone.

The winner will be announced June 24 during the league's awards ceremony in Las Vegas.

View More