Skip to main content

Kreider, top picks among those in Rookie Showcase @NHLdotcom

The top five picks from the 2012 NHL Draft and a breakout player from last season's Stanley Cup Playoffs highlight the list of 30 players who will attend the National Hockey League Players' Association Rookie Showcase.

The Union announced Nail Yakupov, Ryan Murray, Alex Galchenyuk, Griffin Reinhart, Morgan Rielly and Chris Kreider are among the participants in the annual event, to be held Tuesday, Aug. 28 in Toronto.

Yakupov, Murray, Galchenyuk, Reinhart and Rielly were picks 1-through-5 in June's draft. Kreider scored five goals for the New York Rangers in three rounds of the postseason, making his NHL debut.

Photos of the participating players will be used for trading cards, video games and other memorabilia.

Last year, the three eventual Calder Trophy finalists -- winner Gabriel Landeskog (Colorado Avalanche), Adam Henrique (New Jersey Devils) and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Edmonton Oilers) -- attended the showcase.

This year's list of attendees, according to

Tyson Barrie (Colorado Avalanche), Nathan Beaulieu (Montreal Canadiens), Beau Bennett (Pittsburgh Penguins), Jack Campbell (Dallas Stars), Charlie Coyle (Minnesota Wild), Emerson Etem (Anaheim Ducks), Alex Galchenyuk (Montreal Canadiens), Dougie Hamilton (Boston Bruins), Quinton Howden (Florida Panthers), Tomas Jurco (Detroit Red Wings), Jared Knight (Boston Bruins), Leo Komarov (Toronto Maple Leafs), Chris Kreider (New York Rangers), Scott Laughton (Philadelphia Flyers), Joseph Morrow (Pittsburgh Penguins), Ryan Murphy (Carolina Hurricanes), Ryan Murray (Columbus Blue Jackets), Brock Nelson (New York Islanders), Jamie Oleksiak (Dallas Stars), Griffin Reinhart (New York Islanders), Morgan Rielly (Toronto Maple Leafs), Justin Schultz (Edmonton Oilers), Jaden Schwartz (St. Louis Blues), Reilly Smith (Dallas Stars), Ryan Spooner (Boston Bruins), Jarred Tinordi (Montreal Canadiens), Tyler Toffoli (Los Angeles Kings), Mark Visentin (Phoenix Coyotes), Austin Watson (Nashville Predators) and Nail Yakupov (Edmonton Oilers).

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.