Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: FLA @ LAK - 5:39 of Second Period

Original call stands - good goal Kings @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: FLA@LAK

King's goal stands after review

After a challenge by the Panthers in the 2nd period, it is ruled that there is no goalie interference and Dwight King's goal stands

  • 03:27 •

At 5:39 of the second period in the Panthers/Kings game, Florida requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Los Angeles player interfered with Florida goaltender Roberto Luongo prior to Dwight King's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed that the actions of Florida's Mark Pysyk caused Los Angeles' Nick Shore to contact Luongo before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal on the ice should be allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Los Angeles Kings. 

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Florida Panthers forfeit their time-out. 

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.