Skip to main content
NHL Awards

Penguins' Jim Rutherford wins GM of Year Award

Pittsburgh general manager built Stanley Cup champion @NHLdotcom

Rutherford wins GM of the Year

Jim Rutherford wins General Manager of the Year

Jim Rutherford of the Pittsburgh Penguins is presented the General Manager of the Year award after his club captured the Stanley Cup

  • 01:32 •

Jim Rutherford of the Pittsburgh Penguins won the General Manager of the Year award at the 2016 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on Wednesday.

Rutherford, who has been Penguins GM for the past two seasons, made several key moves this season, including trading for defenseman Trevor Daley and forwards Phil Kessel, Nick Bonino and Carl Hagelin, signing forwards Matt Cullen and Eric Fehr, and firing coach Mike Johnston in December and replacing him with Mike Sullivan.

The Penguins went 33-16-5 under Sullivan and finished in second place in the Metropolitan Division before going on to win the Stanley Cup.

Brian MacLellan of the Washington Capitals and Jim Nill of the Dallas Stars were the other finalists.

2015-2016 NHL General Manager of the Year Award Voting // Pts.  (1st-2nd-3rd)

1.   Jim Rutherford, PIT   90   (10-12-4)

2.   Brian MacLellan, WSH   56   (6-7-5)

3.   Jim Nill, DAL     55   (7-3-11)

4.   Dale Tallon, FLA   50   (7-3-6)

5.   Doug Armstrong, STL   39   (4-5-4)

6.   Doug Wilson, SJS   38   (3-7-2)

7.   Steve Yzerman, TBL   17   (2-1-4)

8.   Stan Bowman, CHI   10   (1-1-2)

9.   Ron Hextall, PHI   3   (0-1-0)

10.   Don Maloney, ARI   1   (0-0-1)

   Bob Murray, ANA   1   (0-0-1)

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.