Skip to Main Content

Hockey Hall of Fame announces Foster Hewitt Memorial and Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award recipients @NHLdotcom

TORONTO -- Bill Hay, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today that long time Canadian Press reporter NEIL STEVENS will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for print journalism and that MIKE ‘DOC’ EMRICK, widely recognized as the voice of the NHL in the United States, will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Mike Emrick
Neil Stevens has worked for the Canadian Press wire service for more than 30 years, making him a hockey reporter in the truest sense of the word. Over the course of his career the native of Port Dalhousie, Ontario, has covered 20 Stanley Cup finals, two World Cups of Hockey, six Winter Olympic hockey tournaments, four World Championships and several Memorial Cups.

"As a wire service journalist, Neil Stevens’ name didn’t always appear in the newspaper, but he might have been the most widely read hockey writer in Canada for the past 30 years,” said Kevin Allen, President, Professional Hockey Writers Association. “He’s an old school reporter who can craft a game story in 30 minutes and make readers feel like they were there. His longevity as a Canadian Press hockey writer says volumes about how well he mastered his craft.”

Since 2005 Mike Emrick has been the lead play-by-play announcer for the NHL on Versus and the NHL on NBC. He began his hockey-broadcasting career in 1973 calling games for the IHL Port Huron Flags. Over the past two decades, he has served as the voice of the Flyers in Philadelphia, of the Rangers in New York, and most recently as the voice of the Devils in New Jersey.

"Mike has been the pre-eminent hockey play-by-play broadcaster in the United States for many years,” said Chuck Kaiton, President, NHL Broadcasters’ Association. “His dedication to hockey and his enthusiasm for broadcasting make him worthy of this honor.”

Stevens and Emrick will receive the awards at a luncheon presentation on Monday, November 10, 2008.  This year’s Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend will take place November 7th to 9th, culminating with the live broadcast of the Induction Ceremony beginning at 7:30 P.M. (EST)  on Monday, November 10 on TSN’s alternate digital feed (which will be rebroadcast in its entirety on TSN at 7:30 P.M. (EST) on Wednesday, November 12th). 

This year’s Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees will be announced on Tuesday, June 17, 2008, following the annual Selection Committee meeting that same day.

The Foster Hewitt Memorial Award is named in honour of the late “Voice of Hockey” in Canada.  It was first presented in 1984 by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association in recognition of members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and to the game of hockey.  

Named in honour of the late Montreal newspaper reporter, the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award was first presented in 1984 by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association in recognition of distinguished members of the newspaper profession whose words have brought honour to journalism and to the game of hockey.

Established in 1943, the Hockey Hall of Fame is a museum and place of entertainment offering state-of-the-art multimedia presentations and exhibits from its premises at BCE Place, Toronto, Canada.  Its mandate is to recognize and honour the achievements of teams and individuals who bring special distinction to the game of hockey, and to collect and preserve objects, images and resource materials connected with the game as it is played in Canada and throughout the world. 

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.