Skip to main content

Goo Goo Dolls join talent list at NHL Awards @NHLdotcom
Actor and comedian Jay Mohr will host the 2010 NHL Awards on June 23 at the Pearl Concert Theater inside The Palms Hotel in Las Vegas as the stars of Hollywood and hockey come together to honor the National Hockey League's best.

Late Friday, it was announced the Goo Goo Dolls will join the show. As previously announced, the star-studded show will feature Hollywood star Mark Wahlberg, CBC's George Stroumboulopoulos, Florida rockers Shinedown, Grammy Award-nominated rapper Snoop Dogg, the world famous Cirque du Soleil, drummer/music producer Travis Barker and many of the NHL's biggest stars. 

Snoop Dogg and Barker will open the broadcast with a pre-taped performance of "I Wanna Rock," followed by a live performance by the Goo Goo Dolls later in the show. All musical performances will be presented by Verizon.

The special guests and presenters will include actors Jamie Kennedy ("Finding Bliss"), John Slattery ("Mad Men," "The Adjustment Bureau"), Kevin Zegers ("Transamerica") and Leven Rambin ("Grey's Anatomy," "Scoundrels"); actor / director D.B. Sweeney ("The Cutting Edge," "Two Tickets to Paradise"); legendary Hollywood producer Jerry Bruckheimer; CBC host Ron MacLean; and Reese Waters, host of "The Daily Line" on Versus will join Wahlberg, a Boston native and longtime hockey fan and Stroumboulopoulos. Former NHL stars Luc Robitaille, Jeremy Roenick, Guy Lafleur and Eddie Olczyk also will present awards.

NHL stars and nominees Martin Brodeur, Sidney Crosby, Duncan Keith, Mike Green, Ryan Kesler, Ryan Miller, Alex Ovechkin and many more will be on hand for the festivities. Also on hand will be Jonathan Toews, Patrick Kane and Patrick Sharp of the Stanley Cup champion Chicago Blackhawks.

A well-known stand-up comedian and featured player on the 1993-94 and 1994-95 seasons of "Saturday Night Live," Mohr made the leap to feature films and television, starring in such films as "Jerry McGuire" in 1996 with Tom Cruise and "Picture Perfect" in 1997 with Jennifer Aniston. Mohr will soon be seen with Matt Damon in the upcoming feature film "Hereafter," directed by Clint Eastwood, and most recently starred in the CBS sitcom "Gary Unmarried." A New Jersey native, Mohr is an avid sports fan and frequent guest on many sports shows.

"As a huge hockey fan, I'm very excited to host the 2010 NHL Awards and honor the game's greatest players," Mohr said. "The 2009-10 NHL season has been one of the most exciting in recent memory and the nominated League stars have given us some truly incredible moments to celebrate."

The 2010 NHL Awards will be broadcast in high definition at 7:30 p.m. ET on Versus in the United States and at 8:30 p.m. on CBC in Canada (9 p.m. in Newfoundland). Limited tickets are still available to the public via Ticketmaster at and at the Pearl Concert Theater Box Office. A cocktail reception will be held after the event at the Palms Pool & Bungalows.

Individual honors to be presented at the 2010 NHL Awards include: Art Ross Trophy (top scorer during the regular season), Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey), Calder Memorial Trophy (outstanding rookie), Frank J. Selke Trophy (outstanding defensive forward), Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player to his team), Jack Adams Award (outstanding coach), James Norris Memorial Trophy (outstanding all-around defenseman), King Clancy Memorial Trophy presented by U.S. Army (leadership and humanitarian contribution to his community), Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct), the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone (superior leader in hockey and a contributing member of society), Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy (top goal-scorer for the regular season), the NHL Foundation Player Award (charitable and community work), Williams M. Jennings Trophy (goaltender(s) on team with fewest goals-against), the NHL Lifetime Achievement Award, and Vezina Trophy (outstanding goaltender).

Alex Ovechkin, Sidney Crosby and Henrik Sedin were recently announced as nominees for the Ted Lindsay Award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, which is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association.

Additional musical performances, as well as special celebrity guests and the NHL's biggest stars confirmed to attend the 2010 NHL Awards will be announced in the coming weeks. For more information, visit

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.