Skip to main content

Goaltenders Mason, Thomas, Backstrom finalists for Vezina Trophy @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK - Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins, Niklas Backstrom of the Minnesota Wild and rookie Steve Mason of the Columbus Blue Jackets are the finalists for the Vezina Trophy as the NHL's top goaltender.

The winner is to be announced June 18 at the NHL awards show in Las Vegas. Thomas led the NHL with a 2.10 goals-against average and a .933 save percentage for the Eastern Conference-leading Bruins.

Backstrom had a 2.33 GAA and a .923 save percentage while playing in 17 more games than Thomas.

Mason had a 2.29 GAA and a .916 save percentage. He is also a finalist for the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year.

The last goalie to win the Vezina and the Calder in the same year was Ed Belfour in 1991.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.