Skip to Main Content
Hall of Fame

Gallagher, Peckham to be honored by Hockey Hall of Fame

Longtime hockey writer to receive Elmer Ferguson Award; former Lightning broadcaster winner of Foster Hewitt Award @NHLdotcom

Tony Gallagher, a longtime Vancouver hockey writer, and former Tampa Bay Lightning television broadcaster Rick Peckham will be honored by the Hockey Hall of Fame as part of the class of 2020.

Gallagher was named the winner of the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism. Peckham was voted the winner of the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Gallagher worked at the Vancouver Province from 1970-2015. He began covering pro hockey not long after arriving at the paper, first the New Westminster Bruins and the Vancouver Blazers of the World Hockey Association, then the Vancouver Canucks. He was promoted to general columnist in 1987 and covered the Stanley Cup Final nearly 25 times.

"Tony Gallagher owned the Vancouver market in a time before the internet, when scoops lasted for 24 hours in a newspaper world where contact meant everything," said Frank Seravalli, president of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, which votes on the Ferguson award. "He was uber-connected and over time became the voice for a Western Canadian market that has always seemed to have a chip on its shoulder, sitting three time zones away from Toronto. Tony was the perfect writer for that constituency, never afraid to break a few eggs in writing his daily omelet."

Peckham retired this season after a 42-year broadcasting career, the previous 24 as the play-by-play announcer with Tampa Bay. Prior to joining the Lightning in 1995, he had the same role for 11 seasons with the Hartford Whalers. He won a local Emmy Award four times for his work with Fox Sports Sun and Sportschannel New England.

"I have known Rick for 36 years since his days covering the Hartford Whalers." said Chuck Kaiton, president of the of the NHL Broadcasters' Association, which votes on the Hewitt award. "Rick has had a most distinguished hockey broadcasting career, which deserves to be recognized by this honor. His longevity and excellence tell the story and passion for his profession came through each broadcast."

Gallagher and Peckham will be the media honorees during Hall of Fame weekend in Toronto, tentatively scheduled for Nov. 13-16.

The 2020 Hockey Hall of Fame induction class, which was announced June 24, includes Jarome Iginla, Marian Hossa, Kevin Lowe, Doug Wilson, Kim St-Pierre and Ken Holland.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.