Skip to main content


Forward Tyler Ennis among 14 players assigned to minors by Sabres @NHL

BUFFALO, N.Y. - The Buffalo Sabres have assigned former first-round draft pick Tyler Ennis and 13 other players to the minors.

Ennis' demotion to AHL Portland was announced Tuesday, a week after the forward signed a three-year contract. He was drafted 26th overall in 2008.

Also headed to the minors are forwards Paul Byron, Brad Larsen, Maxime Legault, Mark McCutcheon, Kyle Rank, Travis Turnbull and Derek Whitmore; defencemen T.J. Brennan, Matt Generous, Mike Kostka, Dennis Persson and Drew Schiestel; and goalie J.P. Lamoureux.

The Sabres also released defencemen Ryan Stokes and goalie Glenn Fisher.

Buffalo takes a 2-1 pre-season record into Wednesday's home game against Toronto. The Sabres open the regular season at home against Montreal on Oct. 3.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.