Skip to main content

Foligno promoted as Sabres shuffle lines

by Joe Yerdon

BUFFALO -- The Buffalo Sabres are shuffling lines for their matchup against the Ottawa Senators on Tuesday night.

Interim coach Ted Nolan is breaking up his top line of Matt Moulson, Cody Hodgson and Drew Stafford, and spreading them out over three lines. Marcus Foligno is getting the biggest promotion, going from the fourth line to the second to join Stafford and team captain Steve Ott.

"It's huge for me," Foligno said. "I think I was set back because Ted wanted to show how I have to play. Fourth line, third line, second line, first line -- doesn’t matter. You have to bring your game every night. You're on a scoring line but it doesn't mean you're going to score every night. … This is going to be a big game tonight for myself to know that I can play there."

Forward Ville Leino, who had been centering the second line, will be scratched against the Senators in favor of John Scott.

"Certain players with a certain skill set, they have to bring it," Nolan said. "If you're not going to play as well as you can, sometimes it's better off to sit and look and observe for a while. Hopefully when he gets back in he'll play the way he's capable of playing."

Defenseman Brayden McNabb will rejoin the lineup and likely replace Mike Weber. Ryan Miller was the first goalie off at the morning skate and will start.

The Senators won't be changing their lineup after their 5-4 shootout win against the Philadelphia Flyers on Monday night. Coach Paul MacLean will keep his new line of Clarke MacArthur, Jason Spezza and Bobby Ryan together after they had success against the Flyers.

"We've been known to keep it the same and change it back," MacLean said. "At this point we'll see how it goes. Right now we're going to start this game the way we finished last night and see how it goes."

Robin Lehner will start in goal for the Senators after Craig Anderson earned the win against the Flyers on Monday.

As for the lineups, here's how they may look.


Matt MoulsonTyler EnnisZemgus Girgensons

Marcus FolignoSteve OttDrew Stafford

Luke AdamCody HodgsonMatt D'Agostini

John ScottCody McCormickBrian Flynn

Tyler MyersHenrik Tallinder

Christian EhrhoffJamie McBain

Brayden McNabbMark Pysyk

Ryan Miller

Jhonas Enroth

Scratched: Ville Leino, Mike Weber

Injured: Alexander Sulzer (undisclosed)


Clarke MacArthurJason SpezzaBobby Ryan

Milan MichalekKyle TurrisErik Condra

Matt KassianMika ZibanejadCory Conacher

Colin GreeningZack SmithChris Neil

Marc MethotErik Karlsson

Chris PhillipsJoe Corvo

Jared CowenPatrick Wiercioch

Robin Lehner

Craig Anderson

Scratched: Eric Gryba, Mike Hoffman

Injured: None

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.